Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police
Fiji break: how I patrolled the mountains with the Fiji police

Craving for another outback experience, I decided that I'd climb up Mount Tamavini, highest peak of the island. I took a carrier (delivery trucks with seats in the trunk;) to Nadarivatu.

The driver stopped me at the police station, where I could get some informations about the hike and accomodation.

Napolion, the officer, did not stop just give me the informations I was asking for. He offered me to stay in the police barrack with his mate Lavi. From here, Lavi and Napo secure the main power station of the island, especially during the election period.

Because the rain was keeping on falling, we spent the afternoon drinking tea and talking! After a nice dinner the officers shared with me, they took me on their night patrol in the mountains. The mission was to check the road to the power station and to the villages around... We helped on our way the teacher who had bogged his car in the mud on his way back home.

Early morning, looking at the foggy weather, I finally decided on climbing thru the rain forest, up to Lomalagi summit. There were not much of a view, but, once again, the human experience I'd had in Nadarivatu was well worth it.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe: